Upper East NPP Elects Lawyer Namoo Chairman

The New Patriotic Party in the Upper East Region on Saturday elected a private legal practitioner, Anthony Namoo, Chairman. He will go into history as the youngest chairman of the NPP in the region since 1992.

He polled 124 votes out of the 300 total votes cast to unseat the incumbent regional chairman, Mohammed Murtala Ibrahim, who polled 51 votes to place third.

Another young aspirant, Filson Awankua, came second with 88 votes. Alhaji Abdallah Otito Achuliwor polled 30 votes, while Joseph Agongo had 5 votes.

The results of the elections indicated that the delegates did not vote along zonal blocs as had been the case, and was expected, but voted based on analysis and strategic messages.

The Regional Organizer position was keenly contested for and the outcome was the most shocking to some observers. The incumbent, Jerry Asamani, who is the Regional Director of NADMO, polled 107 votes to retain the position. The “public’s choice” Charles Taleog Ndanbon aka Champion Man, garnered 100 votes to the surprise of many party members who saw him as the most vibrant with the ability to draw new members into the party.

Other contestants, Alhaji Issifu Mumuni, polled 52 votes, Stanley Mort Kurug, former Regional Organizer, had 25. Gregory Abasang secured 12 and Agana Bawa Rashid, a journalist and entrepreneur, managed 4 votes.

Moses Kwabena Atinga was elected the First Vice Chairman with 124 votes out of the 300 total votes cast.

Bugri Abubakar Ibrahim came out of his sick bed at the hospital with clutches to secure victory as the Second Vice Chairman. He garnered 132 votes.

Cletus Innocent Ayabire was elected Regional Secretary, while Elvis Figo Atia Awonekai secured the Assistant Secretary slot.

Joseph Awinpanga Akanfaba toppled the incumbent Regional Treasurer, Edmund Bombande, with 135 votes to 43.

Ayamba Georgina from Zebilla in the western zone of the Upper East Region was elected Regional Women’s Organizer while Latif Solomon Yenah, who contested for the third time, won the sympathy of the delegates. He polled 146 votes to secure the Regional Youth Organizer position.

Incumbent Nasara Coordinator, Alhaji Mohammed Siitah Abubakari, was retained.

e Minister of Information Dr. Mustapha Hamid was happy with the turn-out and the peaceful nature of the electoral exercise and called on all party faithful in the region to support the new regional executives to deliver.

The newly elected executives were sworn into office by a National Deputy Organizer, Alhaji Nuhu Mahama.

Source: Daily Guide

Show More


  1. Pingback: bonanza178
  2. Pingback: helpful hints

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button