Loyal fans made me win Song of the Year – Fancy Gadam

Fancy Gadam has said his loyal fans are to be credited for his winning the Song of the Year award at the 2018 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMAs).

The Northern Region based musician, beat the One Corner hitmaker, Patapaa, and 12 others to win the award.

Scores of Patapaa fans have since accused the organisers of cheating their man out of the award.

Patapaa himself stormed out of the auditorium after the award went in favour of Fancy Gadam, later claiming he was totally cheated.

But speaking on the AM Show on the Joy News channel Monday, Fancy Gadam, born Mujahid Ahmed Bello said he thoroughly deserved the award.

“My fans voted for me to win,” he said.

I know that any other artiste I compete with will go do down because my fan base is too loyal. You will think you are big but I will come and win over you, he added in pidgin.

Watch Fancy Gadam interview with Joy FM on Monday

It has been revealed that he picked up the award with some 88,000 votes, beating the closest contender who came with 10,000, by some 70,000 votes.

He added that he was even disappointed not to be in the Best Collaboration category because he believes he did good work there too.

“Since last year I picked up one and this year two, next year will be four,” he stated happily.

Find the full list of winners below.

Artiste of the Year


Gospel Song of the Year

‘Bo Noo Ni’ by Joe Mettle

Hip Pop Song of the Year

‘Grind Day (Remix)’ by Kwesi Arthur

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year

‘My Own’ by Samini

Hiplife Song of the Year

‘Total Cheat’ by Fancy Gadam ft Sarkodie

Afro Pop Song of the Year

‘Sponsor’ by Ebony

Highlife Song of the Year

‘Odo’ by Kidi

Gospel Artiste of the Year

Joe Mettle

Highlife Artiste of the Year

Kuami Eugene

Hiplife/Hiphop Artiste of the Year


Songwriter of the Year

Bullet for ‘Maame Hw3’

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year


Best Collaboration of the Year

Shatta Wale & SM Militants (Taking Over)

Rapper of the Year


Best Group of the Year


Best Music Video of the Year

‘Obi Agyi Obi Girl’ by Gyo of Phamous Philms

Best Male Vocalist of the Year

Joe Mettle

Best Female Vocalist of the Year


African Artiste of the Year


Record of the Year

‘State of the Art’ by Teephlow

Best New Artiste of the Year

Kuami Eugene

Song of the Year

‘Total Cheat’ by Fancy Gadam ft Sarkodie

Album of the Year

Bonyfied (Ebony)

Traditional Artiste of the Year

Amamerefo Music and Dance Ensemble

Instrumental Artiste of the Year

Dominic Quashie

Lifetime Achievement Award

Mary Naa Amanua Doodo of Wulomei

Source: Myjoyonline.com

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button