Salah, Mane and Aubameyang on three-man shortlist for CAF Award

CAF has announced that Mohamed Salah, Aubameyang and Sadio Mane are the final three to compete for the 2017 African Player of the Year Award, after having announced a 30-man shortlist earlier in the year.

Mohamed Salah, 25, scored five goals to help Egypt qualify for their first World Cup since 1990. That was after his two goals helped the Pharaohs to the final of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, where they lost 2-1 to Cameroon. He is currently the top scorer in the English Premier League with 14 goals and has netted six times in the Champions League.

Sadio Mane may have failed to lead Senegal to African title in January but he was an instrumental figure in the Teranga Lions’ qualification to the World Cup for the first time in 16 years. At club level, Mane has netted 18 goals for Liverpool this year.

Aubameyang, meanwhile, has scored 45 goals this year and is now the African with the most goals scored in the Bundesliga.

The list was trimmed down following votes by Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF, members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee and a panel of Media Experts.

The overall winner will be announced at the Awards Gala on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

Nigerian energy giants, Aiteo, are the headline sponsors of next year’s edition that will see players, officials and administrators who distinguished themselves exemplary during the year under review being honoured for their efforts towards the development of the game on the continent.

African Player of the Year:

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)

Women’s Player of the Year:

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)

Women’s National Team of the Year:

Ghana U-20

Nigeria U-20

South Africa

Coach of the Year:

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

L’Hussein Amoutta

National Team of the Year:




Club of the Year:

Al Ahly

TP Mazembe

Wydad Athletic Club

Youth Player of the Year:

Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)


Show More


  1. Pingback: lsm99
  2. Pingback:
  3. Pingback: site read
  4. Pingback: Cartel carts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button