Egypt win big, Ibrahim Sunday honoured at 2017 CAF awards

Egypt dominated the 2017 CAF-Aiteo awards ceremony held in Accra on Thursday night by scooping three awards including the ultimate, African Player of the Year.

Liverpool star Mohamed Salah clinched the award ahead of 2015 winner Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Borussia Dortmund and club teammate Sadio Mane.

Egypt head Coach Hector Cuper was named Coach of the Year, while the Men’s senior side won the National Team of the Year award.

Ghana legend Ibrahim Sunday received the CAF legends award for his outstanding achievement on the field and subsequently as coach.

All the award winners:

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, suit

African Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt)

Image may contain: 1 person, standing

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Image may contain: 1 person, standing and suit

Youth Player of the Year

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing and suit

Coach of the Year

Hector Cuper

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling

Club of the Year

Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year 


Image may contain: 1 person, indoor

Women’s National Team of the Year:

South Africa

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, people standing

CAF Legends Award: 

Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)

Photos credit: Senyuiedzorm Awusi Adadevoh (Images Image)

Show More

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button